Hello everybody!

I am an operating systems programmer with some experience in writing low-level material and handling simultaneous/parallel computations in C, C ++ and Rust, but I have never written any network software that could be worthy of this name, nor something related to the world of video games.

I would like, as a hobby, to learn about this world in order to implement a brand new server written completely in Rust.

I would like to have your advises and, moreover, to know where to move the first steps to understand how a Metin2 server works, what are the main design errors that you think have been made and what you would expect from a server designed for modern needs.

Thanks!

• Premium
On 5/6/2021 at 11:37 AM, Sbonkers said:

to know where to move the first steps to understand how a Metin2 server works, what are the main design errors that you think have been made and what you would expect from a server designed for modern needs

Huhh thats a little bit too much to ask. Back in its time the solutions they made for various problems were acceptable due to the hardware limits, but nowadays the whole server is utterly trash. The question is more like what is okay for modern needs.

But to be a little more specific, here is some of the most annoying problems:

• No serverside checks for some critical game mechanics. There are numerous stuff that depends on the client, and therefore can be easily faked. For example when you attack, the client calculates the positions your attack would hit, and there is only a distance check on serverside if you really hit that entity. There is no other kind of checks, like combo, direction, or more fine tuned stuff. Nowadays it should be completely independent from the client, the server should determine every attack/movement, and the client should just receive the results.